On environment

One of the ideas I set out to express on the CiF graph was the idea that each cube is a blank, that its surroundings give it its colour and its personality. Given the graph is quite busy, I wanted to highlight the, if you will, magic, of mixing light.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments on “On environment”

  1. lightacandle says:

    Interesting Digby. I sometimes wonder if there are even more colours out there than our eyes can see – in the same way as some animals can hear sounds that we cannot hear. And if in fact we all react to different colours in different ways. For example a deep nearly black green puts me in a thoughtful sort of deep mood whereas for someone else some other colour may have such an effect – and why should that be? Does it relate to past experiences, a memory, something we experienced as a child but can’t remember but is there hidden somewhere withiin our memory none the less. Yes colours have a profound effect on people I would say and can affect you in many different ways.

    Some favourite lyrics of mine come from ‘Comfortably Numb’ which states –

    When I was a child
    I caught a fleeting glimpse
    Out of the corner of my eye
    I turned to look but it was gone
    I cannot put my finger on it now
    The child is grown,
    The dream is gone.
    I have become comfortably numb.

    And yet for me certain things you see – like a colour or something can happen can trigger that feeling – or memory.

    Does that make sense?